Dude, Not Cool

Ever feel like the world is out to get you? Well, that’s overstating things a bit, but I’m pretty pissed about the latest indignity I’ve been made to suffer:

Not only did they take the tires, they took the wheels too. Who fucking does that?

All 4 tires & wheels gone. About 2 weeks after having just put new tires on. Because we’re cheap, we had a $1,000 deductible, but with this and some other damage the whole thing came to $4100. I’ve spent more of my Forum severance pay in the last year than I did in the entire 2 years I was unemployed. The funny thing was, I walked right past my car on the way to the bus stop and didn’t even notice. The neighbor called H and told him about it. I wish I could have gotten a photo of Howard, three of our neighbors and me just standing there staring dumbfounded. Well, fuck. What can you do? Amazingly, the guys from Discount Tire came over to the house in the driving rain and put on the  new tires & wheels so we could get the thing towed to the insurance estimator’s place.

Oh yeah, I started a new job at the state in the IT department. 100% better than data entry. People have brains that they use for something besides complaining. It’s only been 2 weeks, but I think it’s going to work out just fine. I have to say it’s really different to work in a real IT setting than when I was pretending to be the IT at the Forum. Apparently most companies don’t just have a stoolie like me making it up as they go along. They have these things called experience, knowledge and training. Weird.

Now on to Kramer, the foster dog. Kramer had rough time. He was rescued from Georgia, brought up here, had 2 separate knee surgeries, got adopted, needed to get unadopted because it just wasn’t going to work out, and finally ended up here. A nice quiet boy who needed a chance. A chance to bite someone that is. On the first day we had him he bit H. OK, so H was being a little handsy, hugging someone he didn’t really know or have permission to hug, but biting is not an acceptable response. We talked to the rescue people and decided that he just needed a little time to de-stress from the unadopting situation, so we said we would continue on. Day 2 Kramer bit me while I was giving him his meds. Obviously this just wasn’t going to work. It wasn’t so much the biting us; we weren’t afraid of him or unsympathetic, and we may have continued on if it weren’t for our own dogs. We weren’t willing to risk them getting bit.

So we made arrangements for Kramer’s former foster to pick him up. Kramer was thrilled to see Bob and it sounded like the story was going to have a happy ending. Then Bob told us that Kramer had bit him when he was lifting him onto the couch AND he had bit his son and taken a chunk out of his lip. Bob thought he could rehabilitate this poor dog (who when he wasn’t biting, was a very sweet guy), but H and I think he’s probably headed to the Rainbow Bridge.

Published in: on July 4, 2012 at 12:26 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wacollins.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/dude-not-cool/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I believe *I* have a claim to being that, as well…

  2. Holy cow!!! Tires AND wheels? Who does that? Do you live in a high crime area? How did they get away with this????? Seriously, NOBODY saw them do it? I bet they did it at 2:00 a.m. — dude, I’m so sorry. Sorry to hear about the rainbow bridge dog. That sucks.

    • I didn’t think we lived in a high crime area, but I’m starting to wonder. In hindsight, I’m think I missed the boat when I bought the new wheels that I didn’t some with spinny rims. That would have made me so frakking cool.

  3. Congratulations on the new job! Let’s celebrate!! Call me?


Leave a Reply

